top of page

Access to the PCHI Portal is allowed only for certified entities. Contact info@pchi-hub.org with any questions.

The PCHI CHW Training Program is not a cookie-cutter CHW program. Our niche is CHW training specifically designed to implement the PCHI Model. Students must be affiliated with a Pathways Community HUB or Pathways Agency in the PCHI Model Certification process. Competencies parallel community health worker/care coordinator standards required as part of achieving and maintaining PCHI Model Certification and align with The Community Health Worker Core Consensus (C3) Project https://www.c3project.org/resources . The standard competency areas include:

  • PCHI Model (20 hours) - 21 Pathways, Demographic, Visit and Progress Forms, and research-based Learning Modules 

  • CHW Profession, History & Roles (2 hours)

  • Communication and Interpersonal Skills (8 hours)

  • Relationship-Building and Teaching (10 hours)

  • Outreach, Service Coordination, and Navigation Skills (6 hours)

  • Capacity-Building and Advocacy (4 hours)

  • Professional Skills and Conduct (12 hours)

  • Knowledge Base (18 hours) in Health and Social Service

Community Health Worker Training

The 80-hour class can be completed virtually through the Blackboard-PCHI learning platform, in person, or in a hybrid format. It is accompanied by an 80-hour community-based practice at a Care Coordination Agency (CCA).

Our experienced instructional team teaches essential care coordination skills within the context of the Pathways Community HUB Institute Model, using the updated 21 Pathways and newest Visit and Progress forms. PCHI uses true-to-life case studies and exclusive disease education, both in video format, that challenges trainees to develop problem-solving skills related to care coordination.  Students also complete an 80-hour practicum that can be completed on-the-job working for care coordination agency affiliated with a Pathways Community HUB. PCHI CHW graduates are more than ready to engage their participants and efficiently coordinate their health and social care using the PCHI Model.

The live, virtual, or hybrid program involves two components that typically occurs simultaneously:

  • Foundational Skills and Roles for the Community Health Worker (80 hours) addresses CHW core competencies in health, community resources, care coordination, advocacy, health education, lifespan development, and basic CHW skills.

  • CHW Practicum (community-based practical experience) includes 80 hours of care coordination experience under the guidance of a PCHI instructor and direct program supervisor at a PCH agency.

April/May 2024:

Orientation for CHWs and Supervisors

Wednesday, April 3

Thursday - Friday, April 4-5
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, April 8-12
Monday - Friday, April 15-19

Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 1st instructor meeting

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, April 22-26
Tuesday - Friday, April 29-May 3
Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 2nd instructor meeting

Monday - Friday, May 6-10
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, May 13-17

July/August 2024:

Orientation for CHWs and Supervisors

Wednesday, July 10

Thursday - Friday, July 11-12
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, July 15-19
Monday - Friday, July 22-26

Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 1st instructor meeting

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, July 29-August 2
Tuesday - Friday, August 5-9
Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 2nd instructor meeting

Monday - Friday, August 12-16
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, August 19-23

August/September 2024:

Orientation for CHWs and Supervisors

Wednesday, August 7th

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, August 12-16

Monday- Friday, August 19-23
Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 1st instructor meeting

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, August 26-30
Tuesday - Friday, September 2-6
Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 2nd instructor meeting

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, September 9-13

September/October 2024:

Orientation for CHWs and Supervisors

Wednesday, September 18

Thursday - Friday, September 19-20
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, September 23-27
Monday - Friday, September 30-October 4

Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 1st instructor meeting

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, October 7-11
Tuesday - Friday, October 14-18
Work days (Practicum) hours; schedule 2nd instructor meeting

Monday - Friday, October 21-25
Work days (Practicum) hours

CHW Virtual Class

Monday - Friday, October 28-November 1

2024 Trainings

bottom of page